3rd visit will be the charm?

2 Nov

Last night we made a trip to the hospital on the urging of my midwife.

About 520pm,  I thought my bag of waters were leaking although I really couldn’t tell besides that my underwear was soaked. I called my doula, she is a family friend, we talked about everything and we decided to hang at home for a bit. About an hour later contractions started. They were still irregualar and mild. I was going from hot to cold, threw up and other stuff. All of these are signs of real labor. My doula and I were talking and we realized that I hadn’t received the results of my group b strep test. If you are group b strep carrier, you will be given antibiotics during the birth to protect the baby. Apparently, group b strep can cause awful things to the little baby. So, we decided I would call my midwife and let her know what was going on. This was about 9pm.  Of course, the midwife said to head to triage because I needed to be check to see if my water is leaking. 2 and half hours later, it was determined that my water did not break and my contractions were still too mild and irregular to be considered real labor. I did have the nurse check me and I am now 85% effaced and 2 cm dilated. So at least there’s been progress since Tuesday when I went to my weekly check up and I lost my plug last thursday. We went to bed to try to get some sleep. My contractions picked up in regularity and intensity. There was one point when I woke eli up to rub my back because it was hurting so bad.  Then out of no where the contractions stopped. It’s been pretty quiet today. We took a long walk since it was so nice out. I am working on staying present and not getting too frustrated with the start/stop.  Eventually, I will make it to active labor and meet my little munchkin!!!

 

7 Responses to “3rd visit will be the charm?”

  1. Chrissy November 3, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    The waiting is the hardest part! But your baby will be here before you know it and then life will completely change (in a good way). I am so excited for you!

  2. Laurenjean November 3, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Oh getting close!!!! I agree that the waiting is awful, especially when you want to meet your little one so badly…cant wait to read the great news!

  3. Kassie November 5, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    I’m just now catching up with you. Hang in there! I can’t imagine how anxious you must be to meet the lil’ one… 😀 I’m thinking about you and hope that everything goes smoothly when it happens for real!

  4. Trish J November 6, 2009 at 12:57 pm #

    Wow – once the puking started, I would have bet $100 that you were having the real thing! I hope that it happens soon – the anticipation really is the worst part. Once you know it’s truly happening, at least you have things you can do.

    Stay centered and calm and before you know it, you’ll have that nugget in your arms! Good luck to you and Eli. I can’t wait to hear your birth story!

  5. Trish J November 8, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    Thinking of you!

  6. Chrissy November 9, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    Is that baby here yet. I think I need pictures if so…

  7. Platinum Rose January 22, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    I tested positive for Group B Strep, I hope you didn’t! Fortunately, I made it all the way to 10 cm dilated and had to have my midwife break my water herself, so the Group B issues didn’t end up being a problem for me since I’d gotten the antibiotics before my water broke. But I was very nervous that my water would break first, before getting any antibiotics in my system. I was very glad that didn’t happen!

Leave a Reply

