saltines and peanut butter

21 Mar

That is what I am eating as I type this post. Trying not to get PB on my hubby’s mac. Oh would I be in such trouble!

I am laying in bed with a nasty cold and it sucks! I hate being sick. I seriously feel like I’ve been hit my a truck. I know it’s been awhile since I posted. Really hasn’t been too much going on in these parts. The main thing is just making sure I keep my job. I am sure everyone is feeling this way. The last post was my toastmaster’s speech. It went really well. I was pleased. Next month, I am taking on the role as an evaluator. This is when you provide an evaluation of another member’s speech.  You have to go up to the front of the room and share your thoughts. You are also being evaluated on how you evaluated. I am pleased at my progress with this club. I see it more from the inside then really my speaking abilities. I have more confidence. It feels good not to beat myself up anymore. Makes me wonder about my twenties and if I didn’t beat myself up so much where would I be career wise.

Our trip to Chile was fantastic. I am so happy we took advantage and went. Non-reving worked out great. We ended up in first class on the way down to Santiago. This was my first long, international flight. The reason why we decided to go to Chile is this. Eli  lived there in 2001-2002. He traveled all over south america and learned spanish fluently. The family he stayed with became his chilean family. He still keeps in touch with them. We even invited them to our wedding but it was too cost prohibitive for them to come. Since the airline Eli flies for has a direct flight to santiago from dallas, we said hell ya, let’s do this! 

We packed in  a ton of sight seeing in the 5 days we were there. We did a day trip to Santiago, Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar. I’ve posted the pics on FB because I still have not figured out how to feed flicker into this blog. If anyone can help me that would be great.  Speaking Spanish was rough. It was easier in C*uba but I think it was because I was drinking the whole time we were there. Chile weather wise is very similar to California. It was a wonderful Mediterranean climate. It was warm during the day and cool at night. The first night we were there, there was a horrible, horrible wind storm that came off the Andes Mountains. It knocked down many trees at the Chilean family’s home. These pine trees that cracked were huge and 30 years old. The grandma counted the rings in the trunk! Power was knocked out until Saturday. It was an experience.

Going home we had no issues with getting on flights. We arrived back home on Tuesday afternoon and proceeded to sleep the rest of the day. Going back to work that week was a challenge. 

Hope everyone is having a good weekend. I think it is time for me to take a nap or watch an episode of Friday night lights. Does anyone else watch this show? It seriously makes me want to move to Texas and have eli coach football and I will become a teacher–which is my dream anyway. 

and coach taylor is HOT.

3 Responses to “saltines and peanut butter”

  1. Kassie March 22, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

    I hope you are feeling better soon!!!

  2. Angela March 23, 2009 at 4:28 am #

    I think it’s cold season. I’ve been feeling crappy and so has DH. No fun. I hope you get better soon.

    Your trip to Chile sounds amazing. You’re so lucky being able to travel so much.

    Oh, and the unfortunate think with WordPress? You can’t link your Flickr photos. I tried for HOURS until I figured out you have to have the dedicated domain (on wordpress.org) to do it. Boo.

  3. Trish J March 26, 2009 at 1:24 am #

    Sorry you’re feeling under the weather. Hope you’re 100% soon. Drink lots of OJ and get some rest!

Leave a comment